BGA Newsletter 239 February 2018

Contributions for the Newsletter are always welcome, both from our members and others. We ask that they be Go-related and “newsy". The place for debate and general discussion is currently Gotalk; however, an introduction to a new topic is fine in the Newsletter. Instructions: Please use plain text not file-attachments. Keep it brief, and give web-links and contact details. It's good to include pictures. If they are on the internet, send me the URL. If not, attach the picture files to your email. Send your contribution to to arrive by the first day of the month.

Jil Segerman, Newsletter Editor


The full set of recent news items, including further details of some of the items shown here, are on our News Pages, and on News Headlines.

BGJ 182 is now available

The Winter 2017-2018 edition of the British Go Journal is now available in the Members' Area.

London Go Centre: Grand Opening, 17th - 18th February

There will be lectures and game reviews, a 3-round tournament. Further details on the LGC page.


British Go Congress

This year's BGC will be held in Bristol from 6th - 8th April. Teaching & lightning on Friday followed by the British Open tournament on Saturday/Sunday. BGA AGM on Saturday evening. Contact for more info and see the flyer.

UK Youth Easter trip to Ukraine

The 24th annual European Youth Go Championship (EYGC) will be held in Kiev, the Ukrainian capital, with the support of DeepMind, during the 2018 Easter holidays. This is the biggest youth competition in Europe; as of 5th February there are already over 126 youngsters registered, from 12 countries. There are three age groups: Under-12, Under-16 and Under-20. The BGA has arranged for a group of UK juniors to attend, with Martin and Helen Harvey as coaches.

Further details of the event can be found on the Championship website and the BGA News item. If you would like more information, please do contact Martin at He can offer plenty of advice on any aspect, including Ukraine, travel, accommodation and possible help with finance.


Further details on

  • London Go Centre Grand Opening, Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th February
  • Nottingham Kyu Teaching/Mini-Tournament, Saturday 24th February
  • Irish Go Congress, Friday 2nd - Sunday 4th March, Dublin
  • South Manchester, Saturday 3rd March, Cheadle Hulme
  • Isle of Skye, Saturday 3rd - Sunday 4th March, Portree
  • Trigantius, Saturday 10th March, Cambridge
  • British Go Congress, Friday 6th - Sunday 8th April, Bristol
  • Candidates' Tournament, Saturday 5th - Monday 7th May. Closed event, i.e. by qualification only; you can check online if you may qualify.
  • Bracknell, Sunday 13th May, Wokingham
  • Welwyn Garden City, Saturday 19th May
  • Not the London Open, Saturday 26th - Monday 28th May, London Go Centre
  • British Pair Go Championships, Saturday 2nd June, Hatfield
  • Durham, Saturday 9th – Sunday 10th June
  • Welsh Open, Saturday 30th June - Sunday 1st July, Barmouth
  • 5th Annual World Collegiate Wei-Chi Championships, during week Monday 9th – Sunday 15th July, Cambridge
  • UK Go Challenge Finals (for juniors), Saturday 14th July, Cambridge


  • Mind Sports Olympiad, Sunday 19th – Monday 27th August, London
  • Youth Training Residential, Wednesday 29th - Friday 31st August. Near Grantham, Lincolnshire
  • Leo Phillips Isle Of Man Go Festival, Sunday 11th - Friday 16th August 2019 (provisional)


The European Go Federation's Tournament Calendar includes the Major European Tournaments and a World Tournament Calendar.

Last updated Sun Feb 18 2018. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.