Non-Current Tournaments: Last Title Holder

Current Tournaments Junior (Youth) Winners Current Tournaments
Past Winners
Non-Current Tournaments
with Winners

Click on Title, Title Holder or Tournament Type to sort into that order

Title Current Championsort icon Description trophy
Leicester Zixin Wu
Bank of China (London) Zhang, Shutai
LSE Yun He

London School of Economics

London Open Yuanbo Zhang
Central London Go Club British Go Association European Go Federation
JFK Statue at ISH
JFK Statue at ISH
The London Open is the UK's biggest tournament. It is always held at the new year period: 28th - 31st December.
It first ran in 1975 and has ran every year since. Usually over 100 players take part and even up to 150. Many come from continental Europe and further away too. Several top European players take part.
2012 logo Dragon and Snake, By J. Keller
2013 Results
Players battle over 4 days, 7 rounds and long time limits. The top player gets to hold the London Open Trophy with cash prizes for the top players and prizes for other good results too. Prizes are also given for the Lightning Tournament, held one evening. Winner 2011
Winner 2011

Recent Opens

Another evening event is the London Pair Go. Around a dozen male-female pairs compete for the best pair title. For more details see the London Pair Go Page. Pair Go
Pair Go
There is usually a professional teacher, the most frequent one being Guo Juan from the Netherlands. They give lectures and analyse games. Other teachers have come from Japan, Korea and China. Guo Juan
Guo Juan
Main Hall
Main Hall
Most players play in the large hall at ISH. The evening events are held there too. ISH also has a bistro, a bar and reasonably priced accommodation. Top Room
Top Room
The top boards are in their own room. Adjacent to it is an analysis room. Prize giving and the Rengo are upstairs. In all ISH provides a superior playing environment.
MSO Youth William Brooks
Thames Valley Team Trophy Wanstead

A team event for clubs located in the tideless part of the Thames Valley. It was a League until 1993 and has been a one day tournament on Easter Monday since then (often known by lots of Ts, eg TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT).

Note the Broken Go Stone Trophy is not the original broken stone as it got broken.

2013 awarded on team result at Bracknell Tournament.

South Coast Handicap Tony Atkins
MSO Rapid Tony Atkins
Wessex Tongzhou Cai

One of the oldest events in the UK, this event was for many years run by Bristol club in the town hall in Marlborough in Wiltshire, a location chosen to easy driving in pre-motorway days. It then moved to Keynsham before settling down in Bath, with that club taking over running it.

Now a 3 round McMahon, but formerly 4 rounds, taking advantage of the extra hour of its traditional date, the Sunday summer time ends.

The trophy was presented by Robnor Paints of Stratton St Margaret.

Edinburgh Christmas Tongzhou Cai

This is held (weather permitting) in December and replaced the Scottish Bar-Low.