Non-Current Tournaments

Current Title HoldersCurrent Tournaments
with Winners
Junior (Youth) Winners Current Tournaments
Past Winners

Click on the name of a tournament to see more details of that event.

Click on Type to sort into that order

Tournament Typesort icon Description Start Year Current Champion Trophy
2002 Andrew Jones

Held in Cupar.

Ceased in 2010

2005 David Lee

The Oxford Tournament's roots go back to the 1960s, but the current series started in 1983. It has been held in Lincoln College, Rhodes House, University College, Somerville College, and Freud's Cafe, but the venue for most recent years has been St Edmund Hall. A "Not The Oxford" tournament was held in London in 1985 when Oxford was cancelled.

  • A 3-round McMahon Main Tournament, interleaved with ...
  • An optional Novices Tournament (with gifts, and additional prizes).
  • This is immediately followed by an (optional) supper to commemorate Simon Eve, and meet other Go-players.
  • Younger players: Financial support, and extra prizes for Under-18, Under-15, Under-12, and Under-9 players.
  • Team Competition/Prize: make your own team – same club/family/whatever.
1983 Li Shen

Ceased 2008

2002 Li Shen
1998 Paul Smith
Alan Thornton
1999 Alistair Wall

Three round McMahon. Was replaced by the East Midlands, also held in Leicester.

1976 Zixin Wu
Other Leagues

Other regional leagues have been held, mostly in the 1970s and early 1980s, but reporting of results was patchy.

In addition the Jubilee Challenge Trophy (a Goban) was instigated for the Queen's Silver Jubilee in 1977. After a few years of competition it was won by Leamington, who still hold it.

Asahi Shimbun

A six-round tournament held in London to celebrate the coming of the Meijin title match to London in September 1989, sponsored by Asahi Shimbun newspaper.

1989 Jong-Soo Yoo
Bank of China (London)
1996 Zhang, Shutai
Epsom Downs (Wedding)

Held during the reception of Paul and Yvonne Margett's wedding.

1996 Alistair Wall
Ipswich (East Anglia)

Also called the East Anglian Tournament.

1978 Matthew Macfadyen
Women's World Qualifier

This tournament was formerly held primarily to select a British entry for the World Women’s Amateur Go Tournament.

1989 Alison Jones
London New Year Rapid
1990 Matthew Cocke / Zhang, Shutai
London (Miscellaneous)
MSO Weekend
1997 Migaku Hayashi
National Knock-Out
1976 Matthew Macfadyen