Annual General Meeting, 1969

British Go Journal No. 8. Spring 1969. Page 3b.

Resolutions passed at the Annual General Meeting of the Association held on the 31st March 1969 at Churchill Hall, Bristol.

It was decided to publish a brief account of decisions taken at the A.G.M. in the British Go Journal. One from the previous A.G.M. was that, subject to the discretion of the Committee, the B.G.A. should pay half the travelling expenses of any player sent to a distant club to give instruction.

The Committee for 1969/70 was elected, and consisted of the Officers: John Barrs, President, Bob Hitchens, Treasurer, and Derek Hunter, Secretary, together with Les Bock, John Diamond, Geoffrey Gray, John Tilley, Francis Roads, and Tony Goddard.

It was decided that the top section of the next British Congress should be called the British Open Championship, and consist of all the contestants playing even-games. The winner should be called the British Open Champion, and the highest placed British player should be called the British Champion. The British Open Championship should be open to all players of Sho-Dan strength and stronger, and the Committee should elect a committee to decide the way of arranging the even games, although, if possible, it should be an all-play-all.

It was decided that, for the other sections, the system of zoning should be dropped, and that used so successfully in the previous Congress adopted in future. It was decided to give a non-returnable plaque as a prize for the top section, and possibly books for the others.

The Committee proposal to amend the Constitution was adopted unanimously. Every member will be receiving a copy of the new Constitution.

It was decided to stop using the European Handicap Scale, and revert to the Japanese system of Dans and Kyus.


This article is from the British Go Journal Issue 8
which is one of a series of back issues now available on the web.

Last updated Thu May 04 2017. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.