Junior Match Against Hong Kong 2022

Tournament Name
Junior-HK Match
Tournament Date
Sat, 4 Jun - Thu, 1 Sep 2022

On 4th June we started a second match on KGS between seventeen British youth players and a team of seventeen Chinese children from Hong Kong Children's Go College. This will carry on for several weeks with usually two games each weekend at 10:00 each day. The format, as in the first match in 2020-2021, is that of last team standing, like the former China-Japan Supergo Matches, with the winner of each game staying on. The games are played online in the KGS British Room, with Chinese Rules with 30 minutes main time + 3 x 30 seconds byoyomi and komi is 7.5 points. The British team was selected from our list of young players, taking those who are currently active, settled in the UK and who replied to the invitation. The HK team plays under username "hkteam".

UK (showing KGS handle/age/grade):

  1. Liann Wong (GoGoLady, 9, 20k) *
  2. Youquan Zhu (Gominion, 9, 16k) *
  3. Jayden Choi (littlebun, 8, 20k) *
  4. Nikola Yeung (Nikola1010, 7, 16k) *
  5. Sofie Yeung (sofie0903, 9, 16k) *
  6. Emily Li (Emicatly22, 9, 11k) *
  7. Rachel Chik Yeung (HamsterRach, 9, 15k) *
  8. Damon Chow (damonchow, 9, 14k) *
  9. Julia Volovich (JuliaTatad, 16, 10k) *
  10. Jin Cheng (JinjinGo, 10, 9k) *
  11. Sung Hee Lim (Goldnrobin, 11, 7k) *
  12. Andrew Volovich (AgoV, 11, 7k) *
  13. Lea Wong (GirlPower7, 13, 4k) *
  14. Gene Wong (genewong, 12, 2k) *
  15. Isabella Qiu (Isabella09, 10, 2k)
  16. Scott Cobbold (splaty, 16, 2d)
  17. Alain Cheung (AlainFC, 14, 4d)

HK (showing age):

  1. Gustavo Tse (5) *
  2. Kayden Li (6) *
  3. Jeffrey Yang (5) *
  4. Hellos Au (8) *
  5. Cyrus Lee (8) *
  6. Isaac Chau (7) *
  7. Mavis Lai (9) *
  8. Abby Ip (10) *
  9. Eugene Chiu (11) *
  10. Rex Ng (11) *
  11. Charles Lo (11) *
  12. Braden Chiu (8) *
  13. Chau Ka Yau (13) *
  14. Tang Kit Hin (12) *
  15. Wu Zi Qi (15)
  16. Lee Ho Nam (15)
  17. Webber Tse (14)

* = eliminated player

Results

UK team order may change because of other commitments.

  • Liann Wong lost to Gustavo Tse (by 67.5) - Saturday 4th June
  • Youquan Zhu lost to Gustavo Tse (by 92.5) - Sunday 5th June
  • Jayden Choi lost to Gustavo Tse (by 26.5) - Saturday 11th June
  • Sophie Yeung lost to Gustavo Tse (by 37.5) - Saturday 18th June
  • Nikola Yeung lost to Gustavo Tse (by resignation) - Sunday 19th June
  • Emily Li lost to Gustavo Tse (by 60.5) - Saturday 25th June
  • Julia Volovich beat Gustavo Tse (by 78.5) - Sunday 26th June
  • Saturday 2nd and Sunday 3rd July - postponed for a typhoon!
  • Rachel Chik lost to Kayden Li (by resignation) - Saturday 9th July
  • Damon Chow lost to Kayden Li (by 125.5) - Sunday 10th July
  • Sung Hee Lim beat Kayden Li (by 60.5) - Saturday 16th July
  • Jin Cheng lost to Jeffery Yang (by 45.5) - Sunday 17th July
  • Julia Volovich beat Jeffery Yang (by 25.5) - Saturday 23rd July
  • Julia Volovich lost to Hellos Au (by 36.5) - Sunday 24th July
  • Sung Hee Lim lost to Hellos Au (by 40.5) - Saturday 30th July
  • Andrew Volovich lost to Hellos Au (by resignation) - Sunday 31st July
  • Lea Wong beat Hellos Au (by 116.5) - Saturday 6th August
  • Lea Wong beat Cyrus Lee (by 39.5) - Sunday 7th August
  • Lea Wong beat Isaac Chau (by 73.5) - Saturday 20th August
  • Lea Wong beat Mavis Lai (by 15.5) - Sunday 21st August
  • Lea Wong beat Abby Ip (by 41.5) - Saturday 27th August
  • Lea Wong beat Eugene Chiu (by resignation) - Sunday 28th August
  • Lea Wong beat Rex Ng (by 17.5) - Saturday 3rd September
  • Lea Wong beat Brandon Chiu (by 5.5) - Sunday 4th September
  • Lea Wong beat Charles Lo (by 32.5) - Saturday 10th September
  • Lea Wong beat Chau Ka Yau (by 14.5) - Sunday 11th September
  • Lea Wong beat Tang Kit Hin (by time) - Sunday 18th September
  • Gene Wong lost to Wu Zi Qi (by time) - Saturday 24th September
  • Lea Wong lost to Wu Zi Qi (by 12.5) - Sunday 25th September
  • Isabella Qiu vs. Wu Zi Qi - Sunday 2nd October
Last updated Tue Sep 27 2022. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.