British Championship

Current Champion
Andrew Kay

British Championship: Title Match between top two from Challengers' League

Past Winners and Results
Start Year

Our premier national competition. It consists of several stages: Candidates' Tournament, Challengers' League and the Title Match, the results of which are shown here.

The title match is the best of three or five games (the players choose); until 2010 it was best of five (apart from 1974 when it was a single game).

More detail is available from the British Championship pages

Links below to year reports with sgf game records (back to 1997), or to individual sgf game records (earlier years).

The 2020 Championship was eventually cancelled due to the Coronovirus pandemic and in 2021 the finalists were selected as the top placed British players in the British Open.

Last updated Sat Nov 27 2021.
If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.